ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

How do you tell if an amp is cathode-biased?

5/22/2005 10:21 PM
GlennW How do you tell if an amp is cathode-biased?
Lame question, I know...but I've never done this before. I've spent a lot of time reading different articles about setting the bias, and it seems like "the cathode-resistor method" is the best and safest way for someone new to try it. One article says;  

"Note that these instructions assume that your amplifier is biased by applying a negative voltage to the control grids; cathode-biased amplifiers cannot be adjusted other than by changing the value of the cathode resistor(s) so this method does no apply to them."  

Anything in particular that I should look for on the chassis or schematic?  

It's a Univox U-155R with a pair of 6AQ5 output tubes, if that helps.  

Thanks.

5/23/2005 2:09 AM
Greg Simon
It seems to me that you may have some confusion here about the safest method of setting the bias, and the type of bias method? If not, then ignore that part of this post!  

When they're talking about having a 1 ohm resistor from cathode to ground, and you using your meter to measure a voltage across this resistor, this is not the same as cathode bias! The 1 ohm resistor thing is independant of the bias method, and it is a way to check the bias and have it be reasonably accurate and repeatable, and safe. If you need more help on how to actually do this to set the bias then I can write more about that, or there are other things online regarding that.