ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Fender mods

9/18/2004 7:14 AM
Danny Michel
email
Fender mods
OK, I have a BF Bandmaster that I converted the trem circuit to bias-vary in. I used the Tremolux schematic that uses the cathode follower. I've been told that this cathode follower reduces intensity of the trem, is this true??? Should I have copied the brown Deluxe/Princeton trem? I love the trem on my Bronco(VChamp), Would this circuit sound the same w/ PP output tubes?  

another topic-  
Has anyone converted a BF Bassman bass channel to 5F6-A specs, or close to it? If you have, how did it sound? I've thought of possibly using a 12DW7 to get closer to the 12AY7 in the tweed, has anyone tried this? Is the cathode follower in the tweed bassman part of THE sound? Does the 12AT7 PI get in the way of the tweed sound?? Please give some opinions on tweedifying BF amps and the sound....

9/18/2004 1:56 PM
SpeedRacer
1 - tweeding the BF amps works great. Used to be my #1 mod back in the day.. turning $300 BF bassman heads into rock machines. Don't bother trying to emulate a 12AY7.. no one used them.. just drop in a 12AX7 and rock on. The CF is key, don't skip it. Lose the 12AT7 as well. Build it the way it was meant to be built and ye shall find salvation. Amen. ;) The stock transformers are fine for this. Put the presence knob in the spare speaker hole (ext cabinet jack)