ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Need Suggetions on new Amp

3/25/2004 8:16 PM
A, Walker
email
Need Suggetions on new Amp
HI,  
I have built several amps including the 5E3, and I know this is the 5E3 forum, but I need suggestions on a new amp. I have a '66 Bandmaster stripped down chassis and I can build alot of different type amps in this chassis. I just cant decide what to build. This chassis has no parts or tannys, just bare.  
I trust you guys on this forum because you have been a great help in the past. Do you have any Ideas?  

Thanks,  
Tony

3/26/2004 1:08 AM
Steve L
email

I vote for a Marshall 18 Watter  
I hope to build one of them someday, but I am a newbie, with only 1 build under my belt (a 5e3 of course).

Thursday
Book Of The Day The Ultimate Tone, Volume III by Kevin O'Connor
Have you ever wondered if there is a better way to build a Bassman, Champ, Plexi, an 800, AC-30, Bulldog or Portaflex? Or you wanted to build an SVT with off-the-shelf parts? How about a master-volume amp that doesn’t change tone with the master setting? Everything you need to know is right here, including: proper grounding techniques, wiring methods, and mechanical considerations. Eighteen chapters cover the “iconic” amps everyone knows and loves, with schematics and layouts for each, along with the technical history of the product. Eyelet-board and chassis-mounted tube socket construction is used throughout, for easy servicing and modding. TUT3 is very accessible even if you cannot fully read a schematic and is a "must have" if you are going to build an amp for your self.