ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

I tried rewinding a pickup. Yikes!!

2/14/2001 5:57 AM
John Fisher
email
I tried rewinding a pickup. Yikes!!
I have an old "Dimarzio Super Distortion" pickup that had a bad coil in it. I have no experience in this but I tried to rewind it. First of all I had a hard time finding thin enough wire. The thinist I found was #41 which by the looks of it, is thicker that what the original was. The other coil measured over 6K (DC resistance).  

Just for fun, I made up a make shift winder using a variable speed electric drill with a step down transformer on it so it can go even slower. I wound the coil the best I could (sloppy) using my finger to control the tention. I don't know how many turns it was, but I just tried to fill up the bobin as much as possible. The restance of my coil was about 2K (bad). I then dipped it in hot wax and put it together.  

Although it worked somewhat, it sure was no "Super Distortion" (thin and weak sounding.) (Back to the drawing board)  

My question is: Has anyone here ever rewound a pickup with at least moderate success? How did you do it? Do you need a lot of fancy gear? or is there a homade way of doing it?  

Does anyone happen to know the wire thickness they use for a "Super Distortion" pickup?  

Any comments are well apreciated.  

Thanks!  

John Fisher

2/14/2001 1:03 PM
MKB
email

I have rewound several pickups and made a P-90 from scratch. I have to give credit to this forum for the majority of my knowledge on pickups. It is a task that is perfected through practice; from the looks of your guitars you should have NO problem with pickup winding.