ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

EL34/6CA7 for 50W Super Lead

1/20/2001 8:54 PM
Sean Weatherford
email
EL34/6CA7 for 50W Super Lead
Hello All,  

A friend of mine has asked me to help him retube his Marshall Super Lead (50W). He wanted me to add a gain stage =:-o but I have talked him out of it. :) I need some input regarding current production EL34/6CA7. Does anyone currently make a 6CA7 that truly is a beam tetrode as opposed to the EL34 pentode?  

He currently has Sovtek EL34's and 12AX7's. I'm going to give hime some of my Telefunken 12AX7's for the preamp, but I need some power tube advice. I have NO experience with the EL34/6CA7. Never been a Marshall man.  

I'm interested in the Yugo 6CA7, the Svetlana EL34 and perhaps the new Electro-Harmonix EL34EH tube.  

TIA  

Sean Weatherford  

Central, SC  

seanw@innova.net

1/21/2001 2:14 AM
Dai Hirokawa
email

I think the Ei(Yugo) 6CA7 is a beam type. And their "KT77" or "EL34" also(whatever they are marking them w/also looked like a beam tube). I've seen a Ei 6CA7 and Ei KT77 side by side, and the KT77 had a skinnier bottle, full base, and a nipple on top. Have never tried these in my Marshall, however. I think Sovtek used to offer a 6CA7 which sort of looked like a "fat bottle" American 6CA7. The ones I saw looked pretty sloppily built, though(a small rectangular piece that should have been punched out of the plate was still dangling on("hanging chad"? Oh no!).  

p.s. I personally like Svetlana EL34s in my Marshall. Good cost/performance.  

Dai Hirokawa

Thursday
Book Of The Day The Ultimate Tone, Volume III by Kevin O'Connor