ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

What's this static?

11/23/2000 10:27 PM
TSM
email
What's this static?
Hey all,  

I got a real problem here, since I am new to the tubew amp world I kinda need to ask for help. My Mesa Tremoverb Combo has just recently started making a kind of crackling like static sound in both channels...in all modes...sometimes its more pronounced in a different mode or channel, but its still there. I changed out the 12AX7 driver tube that is operational in all modes. When I changed the tube, the crackling niose wasnt there for about 15 seconds, then came back...I dont know if this is becaise of the power tubes warming up or what. Can you all please help me out?.......Any help would be much appreciated.  

TSM

11/24/2000 1:12 AM
Steve A.
email

TSM:  

Does it make the static all of the time or just for the first minute or two after you power up the amp? Do you let the amp warm up in Standby?  

Both channels, both modes... it could be the power tubes, too.  

--Good luck!  

Steve Ahola

Saturday
Book Of The Day The Ultimate Tone, Volume III by Kevin O'Connor