ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Light at the end of the tunnel...

11/23/2000 6:14 PM
Ian Anderson
email
Light at the end of the tunnel...
Okay, I've got it working now with the help of a few people via email (you know who you are), so here goes...  

B+ = 593  

Vp = 593  

Vg1 = -55  

Vg2 = 592  

The resistor between the rectifier diodes and first filter cap was burnt out, so I've put a 22ohm/17W one in there as suggested. Would the value of this resistor cause these high voltages, or not?  

This amp is for *bass use* so tight, clean bass is the goal. Would 6550's be a good option?  

It sounds great as it is with EL34's, but I wanted to run it all by you guys first as I'm still a novice at this game.  

... Ian :D

11/24/2000 5:43 PM
Eric H
email

Ian, take a look at Bruces reply to "ohms law ques." a couple of threads up --it might help. FWIW I think 22 ohms is too small.  

-Eric

Sunday
Book Of The Day The Ultimate Tone, Volume III by Kevin O'Connor