ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

can i substitute fets in the shaka3?

6/22/2000 10:35 PM
Rob P
email
can i substitute fets in the shaka3?
hi everyone,  

this is my first time posting on aron's forum, i've been reading it a bit recently, so now i'm getting into the action.  

i'm just about to build a shaka 3 and hot tubes preamp (among other things - i've been neglecting pedal building for a while) The problem is that i can't readily acquire j201 fets (or irf510 mosfets, for that matter) being in Australia, i have a more limited access to electronics stuff, and i don't really want to go mail order for little stuff.  

So, can i substitute other fets for these? like 2n5484, 2n5459, mpf102? etc... what about the mosfets?  

any opinions are greatly appreciated.  

Rob

6/22/2000 11:34 PM
aron
email

Rob,  

Check out my common asked questions. It lists a bunch of FETs that you can try in the Mini-Booster circuit (which is at the end of the Shaka 3).

Thursday
Book Of The Day The Ultimate Tone, Volume III by Kevin O'Connor