ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

help with amp building

7/20/1998 10:00 PM
Richard
email
help with amp building
Okay I'm a beginner at this amp building thing, and even though I already posted something, I still have a few questions.  

First a question about chassis building. Would it be possible to get a metal shop to make you one, and would a simple steel box be adequete. What is the best gauge of steel to use?  

I am going to buy a champ parts kit from STF electronics. For this amp, what would be a good speaker to use. I was thinking about a Celestion Vintage 30, or possibly a Greenback or something like that. Are these good speakers?  

Would it be possible to make a kind of "spectrum analyzer" for an amp. one that uses like 3 LED bar graphs, and shows the volume of a specific range of frequencies for each EQ control. Has anybody done this or heard of it before, and where would it be possible to obtain a schematic of this.  

As for component placement, I also need a little clarification. The capacitors and resistors are mounted on some type of board (different depending on different construction methods) and have leads that connect the appropriate areas to tube sockets, transformers and the like. The transformers are placed on the chassis, with the tube sockets, with leads running through (grommeted) holes to the places neccessary. The controls (pots, switches etc.) are mounted on one side of the chassis, so one can see them from outside the amp, and these should be insulated from the chassis ground, for whatever reason. Is this right?  

I need a good DMM. Has anybody tried the ones from New Sensor, or are these crappy.