ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum.

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Joe Gwinn's Inductance Measurement

:
8/10/2005 8:56 AM
Max Weinhall Joe Gwinn's Inductance Measurement
I am new here, plus I am an electronics novice, so please forgive if I show bad manners or laughable ignorance.  

I am looking at Joe Gwinn's homebrew test instruments ( http://home.comcast.net/~joegwinn/ ). First of all - THANKS! I will have no problem making the "Simple Hall-Effect Magnetic-Field Meter".  

Questions:  
I am keen to try the "Maxwell-Wein Impedance Bridge" for measuring inductance, but I don't have a signal generator. I would like to use a PC soundcard based signal generator - could that be made to work? I think getting the correct frequency is no problem, but what about voltage? Can I just test AC voltage with my DMM and move volume sliders up and down until I'm very close to 1.0V? Or would I need a a specialized measurement tool for that route, like an AC Millivoltmeter?  

If that's no good, what about building a simple transistor-based generator like in my personal EE college, a kids' edu-toy breadboard kit/illustrated book? E.g. http://www.redcircuits.com//Page13.htm -Would that do the trick?  

I'm mainly want to compare pickups and be able to reproduce the same thing. I have been winding for a few months and already all my friends want copies of some of the serendipitously great pickups I've made. Most of them are assembled from parts of old junker pickups, so I can't just go buy another magnet or bobbin or anything to match. Also I have a cheap Korean ceramic humbucker that I LOVE and I would like to be able to make my own, slightly darker version. So I just need consistency for comparing pickups side by side, not absolute, perfectly-calibrated, team-of-101-scientists type precision measurement.