ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum.

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Toroid inrush current???

:
1/3/2005 6:20 AM
Glenn
Toroid inrush current???
Sorry about this double post but I somehow posted in the wrong forum...  

I'm building a rack-mnt power distro for my Rocktron gear w/ some Hammond toroids. I have reservations about the possibility of frying all of my rack units from the possible inrush issues from using toroids (from what I've read this can be an issue).  
Since I have no experience dealing w/ toroids or current inrush limiters, what is my best approach for averting disaster? TIA!  
Glenn  

P.S. More ignorance: can I run an LED from the CT of the trannys to ground to get a decent Voltage drop, or would I fry the LED immediately once the units conn. to the 2ndary are turned on? Thanks!  

P.S.S. The trannys are Hammond 18-0-18V CT @3.33A, I'm using 3 of those to cover 7 units.

Today
ampage
archive
And now, a word from our sponsors:

1/3/2005 3:41 PM
Enzo

Cant speak to the toroid issue, but since most LEDs don't want more than 20ma running through them, they will be at risk as soon as the secondary tries to source more than 20ma. Also you might want to check the reverse voltage rating of the LEDs since I think that is fairly low as well.

1/3/2005 4:48 PM
Glenn

Thanks Enzo! :)  

The thought occured to me that the CT is the ground reference for the taps, and if I wanted only 20mA of capacity, I went way over-spec on the tranny selection (and wouldn't need a toroid either...LOL).  

Would MOV's last longer if a couple were paralleled? I know they don't last all that long because they're always seeing the AC. I was thinking series conn. MOV's but the first MOV will see the brunt of the action, but if it failed (hopefully closed), the second one could continue duties w/ a little longer life. TIA!

1/3/2005 5:35 PM
Don Symes