ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum.

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Floyd Rose Troubles...

:
7/27/2005 9:05 PM
Trick
Floyd Rose Troubles...
OK; ive been messing with my messed up floyd rose for about the past month now and cannot get it fixed; heres the problem.  

I own a Schaller Floyd Rose from around 1990 1991 it came with a used custom Charvel Gunslinger I got at guitar center; I dont know exactly what year it is. Anyways when I got it the floyd rose was perfect and ive been whammying like hell on this thing since October of 2004. well then comes June of 2005 and my guitar starts acting funny; its not staying in tune when I whammy. I tightened everything and retuned it and discovered that my G string was moving out of pitch if I pulled up on the whammy bar and brought it back to normal; it was raising pitch; and when id go down on the bar again it would lower in pitch. this was not good if I was doing alot of whammying. I changed the strings and tried to shave down my saddle blocks because they were worn out as well.  

Still messed up. I am tuning and stretching the strings correctly; and even after installing ALL NEW INSERT BLOCKS AND SCREWS; it is still messed up; I dont know what could possibly be wrong with it. I am out of luck now that ive tried to fix it about 5 different times to no avail. there isnt much of a guitar repair guy here unless I want to wait months to get my axe back.  

Am I out of options or has someone had the same problem. PLEASE HELP!!

Today
ampage
archive
And now, a word from our sponsors:

7/27/2005 11:17 PM
Sweetfinger