ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Tips for replacing can caps etc.?

12/21/2005 10:10 AM
kluson guy Tips for replacing can caps etc.?
Any tips for replacing filter supply caps etc. in old amps? I have several amps that need a cap job and I am fairly new at this. I have plenty of soldering experience and am familiar with how to work safely on tube amps.  

The things I am interested in knowing are how to do a good job of replacing can caps with standalone caps. (Should I add a barrier strip to keep things neat?) How to secure the caps? Or should I be looking for a direct replacement can cap?  
Any suggestions appreciated.  
Thanks!

12/21/2005 3:17 PM
Greg Simon
Usually it is cheaper to use discrete caps instead of can caps, and you also have a wider selection that way. Good brands to use are Xicon, F & T, Sprague Atom....stay away from Illinois. There are different ways to secure the caps inside the amps...zip ties, silicone, putting in tag boards, etc. If its a vintage piece and worth money, then putting in tag boards and drilling holes will lower the value. You'll find that most amp builders use axial caps, but radials are cheaper and even more readily available.  

If you must use a can cap, then there are some standard values available like the usual dual 50uf caps, and you can also get custom cans made from Ted at Webervst, or Zack at Vibroworld. Both are excellant quality, with Ted's being a little cheaper pricewise. The only problem with Ted's is that he only offers the 4 ground lug FP style, whereas Zack offers 3 ground lug FP style in addition to others.