ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum.

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Constant noise from Silverotne Organ Amp

:
6/20/2004 11:11 AM
Bill Gunter
Constant noise from Silverotne Organ Amp
NOTE: Posted originally in "Noise" forum; moved here at Wild Bill's suggestion.  

Hi,  

I am new to the tube amp world and need some help. I bought an old Silvertone chord organ that has a tube amp that I want to use for guitar. The amp is Model No. 4710 and has the following tubes: 12DW7, 12AX7, 6L6GT, and 5Y3GT. Total Power Consumption: 80 Watts. It has a pedal, which I assume controlled vibrato speed, and another pot in the back that adjusted with a screwdriver (controlling what?). I have no schematic and donít know what other Silvertone guitar amps this is similar to that I could compare.  

The amp itself works but I get a constant loud noise (motorboating maybe) whenever itís powered up. I removed the tubes one at a time and discovered that the sound goes away whenever I remove one of the power tubes. Any suggestions? Remember I am totally new to the tube amp world and need to be spoon-fed information.  

Also, before I read much about tube amps, I powered it up without a speaker load attached (less than a minute), which I now know is a no-no. Could that be the source of my problems and lead to a solution?  

Any help would be great!  

Thanks, Bill

Today
ampage
archive
And now, a word from our sponsors:

6/20/2004 10:12 PM
Enzo

I doubt you hurt it by running without a speaker for a little while.  

Pulling power tubes will make any amp go silent. If you pull the 5Y3, there will be no high voltage, so nothing comes out. If you pull the 6L6, there is nothing to drive the speaker so no sound.