ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum.

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

stray capitance in p to p wiring

:
5/4/2006 4:27 PM
chris vought
stray capitance in p to p wiring
newbie here so go easy on me if the answer is obvious. i understand(at least think i do) what stray capitance is and how it can occur in an amp. but couldn't i just as easily use shreilded wire for all connections in an amp??? ive not yet built an amp. i work on my guitars, built a distotion pedal and am planning to do a microphone mod befor i tackle a fender princeton clone that i have plans for.any advice appreciated.

Today
ampage
archive
And now, a word from our sponsors:

5/4/2006 5:21 PM
Enzo

Don't confuse stray capacitance and stray coupling. Two wires side by side can couple inductively as well as capacitively. That's how transformers work. (Yeah, I know, think RF transformers)  

You could use shielded wire everywhere, but why not learn about proper layout and lead dress instead? Fender managed to build their Princetons without it. If you are going to clone one, you should be able to as well.  

I think if you read through a bunch of threads about construction and problems here, you will find a recurring theme of keeping leads short, avoid excess wire, and try to keep inputs and outputs away from each other. So for example, if your channel volume control is an inch from an output tube, perhaps a shield between them would be needed. Better practice would be to not put it there in the first place.

5/4/2006 5:27 PM
R.G.
Enzo is correct - you can couple signal inductively as well as capacitively.  

But here's another thing to watch for.