ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. The sunn still shines online!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Thrift Store Test Eq. Find

:
7/6/2005 5:52 PM
MarkB Thrift Store Test Eq. Find
I've been checking the local thrift stores for a few months with no luck. Today, I found a bunch of units on the shelf with dials, knobs, and screens. I brought home these:  

HP 1741A o-scope w/probes and manual - $25  

Hitachi V212 o-scope - $12  

Leader LSG-16 signal generator - $6  

Lambda LA300 DC power supply 0-16V - $4  

All of them lit up except the HP - I still have to check it out. How'd I do? I left some signal generators, a bench Fluke meter, and another scope behind.

7/6/2005 10:56 PM
Mark Lavelle

Nice catch! Was this anywhere near San Mateo, CA? I'd be happy to go check out the leftovers... :D  

If you've got access to a recently calibrated scope you can easily get the others in shape after the signal generator is tuned up. Alternatively, if the signal generator can do 60Hz you can semi-calibrate it using the AC volts setting of any decent DMM...

7/7/2005 9:56 AM
MarkB
Brockton MA, hoome of Rocky Marciano, Marvelous Marvin Hagler, and not much more.  

I'm going to try to find someone locally who can help me with the scope - there should be a retired repair guy with time on his hands.

7/15/2005 10:05 AM
BillnShell
Your in the Bay area?
Hi Mark(s),  

I'm in Pacific Grove ( Monterey, Ca. ).. Hey Mark L are you going to the Healdsburg guitar fest next month?  

Bill

7/15/2005 11:43 AM
Mark Lavelle

Pacific Grove? Now there's a little piece of Paradise. I've always wondered what folks do to make a living out there (I hear the smuggling biz ain't what it used to be since the end of Prohibition)...
quote:
"Hey Mark L are you going to the Healdsburg guitar fest next month?"