ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Just started my first amp build!

1/15/2006 8:40 PM
Cobra
Just started my first amp build!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

I'm just getting started on my first amp build. I've got almost all of the parts & components, & I'm finalizing the configuration & layout. It's gonna have 2 separate preamps:  

1) the brite side of a 5E3 Tweed Deluxe with 2 inputs, 1 12AX7, 1 volume & 1 tone.  
2) AC-15 preamp with 2 inputs, 1 EF86, 1 volume, & global cut control.  

I'm still deciding on what type of phase inverter circuit. It's either going to be a cathodyne, or a long tailed pair.  

Power amp will be like a 5E3x2, or a Victoria Double Deluxe, utilizing four 6V6 tubes cathode biased, with either a GZ34, or a 5V4/GZ32 recto tube.  

Transformers will be a complete Matchless DC-30 three trannie set: Power, 30 watt output, & choke. 4, 8, & 16 ohm speaker outs. Big iron!  

The chassis is .090 all aluminum 16"x10"x3" with mouning flanges, & very nicely welded on all four corners.  

The whole shootin' match will be housed in a 2x10 combo cab, controls on the front, like Dr.Z combos, with two 8ohm Scumback 10" speakers run in series, at 16ohms total, to take advantage of all the windings of the Matchless output transformer. Of course, I can also wire the speakers in parallel at 4ohms for a different configuration.