ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Building an Amp from Old Radios

3/24/2005 10:02 AM
S-FOIL
email
Building an Amp from Old Radios
I have built some guitars and speaker cabinets but I'm a new amp builder (currently 0 amps built).  

I just purchased an original hardback 1971 Radio Amateur's Handbook ARRL Ham Radio Guide to help me better understand amps/tube/etc.  

I have 2 old tube radios with great chassis, power transformers and tubes (great being the condition they cosmetically look, all seem to be well kept, but I have yet to check the "working" condition of these parts).  

My plan is to build an amp using as many of the parts that I already have.  

Where would I find info (basic design/layouts/schems/tips) on taking the pieces and parts of my old radios and making a guitar amp out of them?  

Thanks,  

www.S-FOIL.com

3/24/2005 10:51 AM
MBSetzer
email

I would look on ebay to see what similar radios in similar cosmetic condition are selling for.  

Depending on how collectible the radio is, there is a possibility you can sell a radio as is and then buy enough parts brand new to build more than one guitar amp, and it would be better for guitar anyway.  

Less work and uncertainty too, especially if you are getting ready for your first tube project.  

I would also check out the Tweed Builder's forum where there is lots of first-hand experience with kit replicas of legendary Fender amps. I think a kit assembly could be the most overall rewarding first project.