ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

cooling fan suggestions

9/1/2004 8:15 AM
tonezoneonline
email
cooling fan suggestions
I've put together a prototype 4-EL84 amp and it sounds great but runs pretty hot.I've never used cooling fans before but think this amp may dictate one.  
Any suggestions on fans and where to tap the power for one.My amps primarilly are in hardwood head cabinets so looks are an issue.These are Marshall style heads with the tubes on top of the chassis.  
Thanks  
Mike  
http://www.tonezoneonline.com

9/1/2004 10:18 AM
Dan
email

I like the 12v DC fans. You can get some that are only 2 inches in diameter. I added a bridge rectifier to the heater lines and one low voltage 470u across the plus and minus leads. This gave me around 8.5v. Just enough to run the fan quietly. Just aim it to flow across the power tubes.  
Dan

9/1/2004 2:36 PM
Dr. Photon
email

I would use a 12 volt computer-style "muffin" fan. I'd just use a bridge recto on the 6.3 volts AC. Just wire up a capacitor (470uF, 1000uF, whatever...) accross the output of he recto and you've got aroudn 9 volts. 9 volts will run the fan fairly quietly. If yopu need the fan quieter, just use a resistor in series w/ it to slow it down or get a "silent" PC colling fan with a thermister/pot that varies it's speed. In the PC world, there are all sorts of fans, from the Vantec "Tornado" screaching ultra high power fan (actually a relabeled delta?) to temperature controlled fans to "silent" fans. a 3 inch (80mm) or a 4 inch (90 mm) fan would be fine.  

12 volt "computer" fans are easier speed controlled than 120 volts AC fans.