ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

5Y3GT rectifier - I can't understand the circuit diagram

5/26/2004 5:33 AM
Josh
email
5Y3GT rectifier - I can't understand the circuit diagram
Hello all, probably a stupid question, but I'm having trouble understanding the circuit diagram of the power supply. Can someone tell me what voltage each of the secondaries is (i.e. in terms of their positions on the schematic - like 6.3V at the bottom secondary) also it seems to me (I have very little experience with valve rectifiers) that there is a closed loop connected to the filaments of the 5y3gt, so my knowledge tells me that no current should flow - it would help my understanding greatly if someone could explain it to me in solid state terms, i.e. bridge/full wave diode rectifier. (sorry to bring it down to that level!) also what is the output of the rectifier for - is it to provide a high voltage DC supply?  
Thankyou in anticipation, sorry for the long post.  
Cheers, Josh - Australia

5/26/2004 8:48 AM
Wild Bill
email
Re: 5Y3GT rectifier - I can't understand the circuit dia
Josh, think of the 5Y3 as two diodes with a common cathode. The usual configuration is a full-wave circuit fed from a centre-tapped transformer secondary winding. The centre-tap is grounded and each half of the secondary feeds a plate of the rectifier tube. The two halves of the rectified voltage are summed at the tube cathode.