ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum.

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Some questions about the repair business

:
5/2/2003 6:51 PM
Aaron
Some questions about the repair business
Hello everybody! I have an opportunity to start an amplifier repair business in my town. I'm a local musician and I have recently found out that there are no repair techs in town that work on tube amps. I have a electronic service degree from my local community college and have been building and designing tube circuits for some time. I've been repairiing amps every now and then for freinds, and I feel very confident in my ability to diagnose and repair amps. The local music store needs someone to repair amps for them and I would like to take the plunge into serious repairman. Since I am essentially a newbie I have some questions however, and would like anyone who has experience in this field to respond.  

1. What is the best (or more importantly cheapest) way to get specific amplifier parts? Up to now I have only accepted repairs of amps that I know how to get parts for such as Fenders. The local music store is NOT an authorized dealer for anyone... All used gear.  

2. What do you think I should charge for labor, and what should I expect to pay the music store for referral? Up to now, I have just received payment from friends in the form of Budweiser.  

3. Is there any advice I could use? What would you have liked to know before starting?  

As you can probably tell, I could have the opportunity to have a fair amount of business since I would be the only repairman in a fairly large town. I would just like to be prepared before taking the plunge. Thanks in advance for your help. Aaron

Today
ampage
archive
And now, a word from our sponsors:

5/3/2003 6:31 AM
Enzo

Where are you Aaron, what is your town?