ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

What are the voltages for a 5F1?

7/4/2003 9:05 AM
Dan
email
What are the voltages for a 5F1?
I've looked at every schematic and website I can find and have yet to locate the voltages for a 5F1 Champ.  

Can someone tell me what they should be?  

Thanks a lot!  

Dan

7/4/2003 6:07 PM
Dan
email

btt

7/5/2003 2:50 AM
Newt
email

Dan, I'm not an expert. I have built a 5F2A. I think as long as your plate voltage is 330-380 and your plate is dissipating 13-14 watts, you should be okay. Your screen will be 10-25 volts less than the plate, with about 3ma of screen current. About 2ma total to the 12AX7. If someone disagrees, PLEASE don't hesitate to correct me.  

I never have figured out how to do a search here. If you go to the AX84 site and do a search on "Champ voltage" or "6V6 voltage" you'll probably find out more than you want to know.

7/5/2003 4:36 AM
steven oda
email

Dan,  

I have, for the 6V6GT: +340VDC B+, +295 screen, +18 volts off the cathode to the cathode resistor (470 ohms)  

The 12AX7 has +150VDC onto pin 1 and onto pin 6. 1500 ohm cathode resistor onto each half of the duo-triode.  

This is using the 5Y3GT rectifier.

7/5/2003 6:09 PM
Rick S
email