ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum.

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

how many of you think this idea sucks....

:
6/6/2003 5:25 AM
JaValon
how many of you think this idea sucks....
Ok, here's the deal. Right now I am in a band that I play mostly rhyhm guitar in. However at certain times I switch off to bass, drums, keyboard, and I do half vocals. Being a poor college student, I haven't had much time since I picked up all these instrments to get good gear for all of them. However, the lead guitar player plays nothing else and has generous parents. Therefore his guitar rig is 10,000x cooler than mine, and since in the band the rhythm guitar is my main instrment, I'm naturally jelous. So i'm trying to think up ways I can get a good sound for cheap. Here's what I'm thinking....  
I've always wanted a Mesa Boogie amp or a high end Marshall like a DSL or something. However, since the venues we play are still small, I would like as little power as possible. 30 watts would be superb, but of course these egomaniacs (no offence Marshall and Mesa!) couldn't have that. However, Mesa makes some high quality preamps that go for cheap on ebay. I already have a good speaker cab (the one thing the other guy is jelous of). I was thinking that I could get one of the Mesa preamps, and then build a little tube power amp (maybe 20 or 30 watts) to hook it in to. That way when my amp is cranked up to 9 and the other guy is still at 4, I'll be grinning my ears off.  

Any suggestions? Comments? Feedback? Verbal abuse?  

Thanks in advance, you guys rock!  
(gosh I'm long-winded)

Today
ampage
archive
And now, a word from our sponsors:

6/5/2003 8:44 PM
MJ Harnish

Ok, my two cents: