ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

need a 20w simple guitar head for begin to start with

4/16/2003 9:09 AM
Tim
email
need a 20w simple guitar head for begin to start with
Hello there,  

I am new to building but really want to start learning. I would like to build a simple 20w guitar head with 1 input, gain knob, 3 band eq and volume knob. No effects loops, dual channels or anything fancy. My guitar play uses a JCM800 100w and it is so loud it is ridiculous so I want to build a more usable amp.  
I saw the AX84 but it is only a 5w amp.  
Does anyone have any recomendations?  

I am sorry if you guys get plenty of these requests.  

Thanks for your time.  

Tim

4/16/2003 2:53 PM
Shea
email

Yeah, GDS amps makes something just like that, I believe. Go to http://www.18watt.com, and you'll see links to GDS amps from there.  

Shea

4/16/2003 3:12 PM
Rich_Stevens
email

Or, go back to AX84 if you want to DIY. Mate up a High Octane Preamp with a November (or 18-Watter) power amp. Mark Huss has also been talking up his "6V6 Plexi" lately, which reported sounds real good.

4/17/2003 6:09 AM
Tim
email

Thanks guys but I need something really simple in a head.  
Any other suggestions?  

Thanks again for your time  

Tim

4/17/2003 11:07 AM
Rich_Stevens
email

For 20 watts, you're almost certainly talking about a small push-pull amp, which unavoidably raises the level of complexity slightly above that of the simplest amps (like the AX84 P1).