ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

survey2: what field to get into?

9/22/2000 12:35 AM
Paul C
email
survey2: what field to get into?
Well, here's something I've been wanting input on...  
I'm 33yrs old and I've been a repair tech in Nashville for 6 years. I spent my 20's trying to be a rock star...sigh. Anyway, I'm about to be a dad any day now, so the thoughts of what to do to put this kid in college are starting! I've got a degree in Recording Eng with minors in Electronics and Music Comp, but I'm thinking of going for a full blown EE thing or CS. I can't decide, but I'd like the EE stuff just so next time I see Randall A at the NAMM show I can talk about stuff a little deeper then types of tolex!! Need to make some money folks! I figure also since everybody is going CS in school the job market for EE's seems to be growing... Thoughts?

9/22/2000 1:04 AM
Hi
email

I can't imagine the market for EEs getting smaller, unless technology collapses entirely. Most of my old friends are EEs BTW, mostly in the defense industry. They make good money, that's for sure. The stress level is another thing...  
Hi

9/22/2000 3:20 PM
dgiust
I'd have to agree with these guys, and I can easily relate to your situation because it's very similiar to my own. I had a strat, a Marshall, and a lot of hair in the 80s, worked as a tech (trade school certificate) for a lot of years. I started school part time, ended up full time.Took me 8 years to get my EE.I didn't get my degree until I was 35,two months before my 36th.  
All I have to say is...DO IT!

9/22/2000 2:20 AM
Lee M.
email