ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. The sunn still shines online!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Burnout Resistor across 6L6 in Bandmaster Reverb?

:
2/29/2000 1:28 AM
Dan
Burnout Resistor across 6L6 in Bandmaster Reverb?
I'm a newbie to getting inside of amps. I got ahold of a SF Bandmaster Reverb to try the Vibroclone project, and have started to Blackface it using Gerald Weber's book as a guide.  

With the chassis out, I noticed that the resistor across one of the 6L6s is cracked/burnt out. Is this a sign of something wrong elsewhere in the amp, or is it just something that happens with age? It also surprised me to find Mallory caps. I always read that Fender started using crap, and the stamp inside the chassis says December 22, 1971.  

Thanks,  

Dan

2/29/2000 2:05 AM
Petey

Well I'm far from an expert but I would say you need to replace the resistor. Use a very high quality. Probably burnt due to a bad tube. I have seen a lot of those caps in SF Fenders of the era, white with blue print. Don't know if they are that bad a quality.:-)  

What's a "Vibroclone project"?  

pt

2/29/2000 4:03 AM
Tim C.

Dan,  

The resistor is either a screen grid resistor which would be a 470 ohm 1 watt or a 1.5K 1/2 watt grid stopper resistor.  

The tube in the socket with the burned resistor is most likely shorted and that is why the resistor burned out. Replace the resistor and the tube and you should be good to go.  

Good Luck,  
Tim C.

2/29/2000 4:32 PM
Joe D

I've got a SF Bandmaster Reverb head. So what is the Vibroclone? Has anyone made one? Is there a link to a schem?  
Inquiring minds want to know.  
Joe D

2/29/2000 4:08 AM
Bryan Prud'Homme