ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum.

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Chassis

:
9/20/1999 1:49 PM
DaveK
Chassis
I'm a home builder building my own design from scratch. I've spent hours designing, simulating, calculating, and optimizing and I've arrived at what I think will be a great 1x12 combo. Trouble is, I can't find a chassis to build it on. A Hammond chassis isn't really long enough. (17" across the front wont quite do it for a cabinet size in between a Deluxe Reverb and a Princeton) I've looked into having a couple custom fabricated, and I'll probably have to go that route. My question is this -  

I can do all the punching and drilling myself. I can have a faceplate made up after. All I need is a solid bare bones chassis. If you were to tell a supplier what you would want in such a product, what would it be? What is the best chassis for a home builder building from scratch. What are the best dimensions, material, etc?  

Today
ampage
archive
And now, a word from our sponsors:

9/20/1999 5:25 PM
Gil Ayan

quote:
"I've looked into having a couple custom fabricated, and I'll probably have to go that route. My question is this -  

I can do all the punching and drilling myself. I can have a faceplate made up after. All I need is a solid bare bones chassis. If you were to tell a supplier what you would want in such a product, what would it be? What is the best chassis for a home builder building from scratch. What are the best dimensions, material, etc?"

If you will have the chassis made, you might as well have all the holes in it already. The machine shop will charge you penuts for that and remember, if you're using stainless teel, drilling the smallest holes can be a pain in the ass. If you are using aluminum, 1/2" is probably about as big a hole as you can make before things start to get real cheesy.