ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum.

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

How to kill HF parasitic oscillation?

:
7/15/1999 5:43 PM
Leo Padron How to kill HF parasitic oscillation?
Following all your helpful comments regarding my Tweed Pro clone, I've recently concluded that my amp has been stricken with the deadly HF "Parasitic Oscillation" problem.  

This is my first project, and I did it cramping the components top-wise in a 13x5x2 chassis with slightly messy point-to-point wiring using terminal strips, so I'm guessing (a) the proximity of the component leads and (b) the proximity of the components themseves may have much to do with this.  

What are the most likely culprits for HF parasitic oscillation and what can be done to kill it? What are the troublesome points in particular and possible fixes?  

Today
ampage
archive
And now, a word from our sponsors:

7/15/1999 6:57 PM
Michael Cameron

You might want to try grid stop resistors mounted as close to the tube pin as possible on the preamp tubes.Try different values and settle on the smallest that does the job. Leave like 1/8" lead on resistor and solder quick so as not to destroy resistor. This is probably the least tone invasive oscillation killer that I know of.  

The 5E5 already has grid stoppers on the output tubes. 12AY7 would have less gain than 12AX7 and might just be enough drop in gain to stop the oscillation. You also might try hookin amp up to speaker and poke around your grid wires with a Sharpie to see if that changes anything. On a couple of my homebrew amps changing the orientation of coupling caps 90degrees has killed and oscillation.  

Thats all I can currently think of with out going to suppression caps that suck the life out of the amp.  

I built a 5D5 a few years ago and think it is great. I go back and forth between 5881 and EL34's .  

Good luck  

michael

7/15/1999 7:20 PM