ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Groove Tubes

10/20/2000 1:16 AM
Custom24
email
Groove Tubes
I attempted to order a set of replacement tubes (Groove Tubes 6L6B)for my Hot Rod Deluxe. In the process of ordering, I was asked what the "hardness" was of these tubes. How do I find this info? There's nothing on the tube. Nothing in the owners manual. Nothing on the Fender site as far as I can see. The original tubes have white lettering if that matters. I noticed at another site there were the same tubes but with 3 different color printing. I'll assume the color-coding indicates the hardness. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am a novice at this. All this talk about re-biasing,etc. has got me a little nervous. I just want to replace the tubes with the exact same thing that Fender had in there when I bought the amp. It's my understanding if I do this I won't have to worry about any re-bias.

10/20/2000 2:29 AM
Steve A.
email

C:  

The original GT power tubes will have a number stamped on them, from 1 to 10. At least in the newer Fenders, the GT's are now color-coded with one of 3 colors. If your tubes have the GT logo but not the Fender logo check for a number stamped on them.  

Steve Ahola

10/20/2000 9:06 AM
Custom24
email

Thanks Steve.....the tubes do have the Fender logo on them. And other than GT6L6B there's no number. All the lettering, GT logo, Fender logo is white. Can you provide anymore info. I'm really trying to avoid having the amp re-biased.

10/20/2000 11:17 AM
Naked Clarke
email