ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum.

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

7591A Power Tubes?

:
7/30/2000 5:50 AM
Brett
7591A Power Tubes?
I have an old Sano amp with a pair of 7591A power tubes. Are the new Sovtek tubes any good? What other (cheaper?) tubes can I substitute them with? I know the pinout is unique. This is my first tube amp and I'm still learning. Thanks for any info.

Today
ampage
archive
And now, a word from our sponsors:

7/30/2000 6:25 AM
Peter S

The Sovtek "7591A" is not a 7591 type tube at all. They are Sovtek 6L6GC tubes. The Sovtek 6L6 is extremely poor substitute for a 7591. There really is NOT any cheap substitute readily available for 7591 type tubes. Forget the Sovteks. If you can't find 7591A's(highly likely), IMO, the best hing to do is rewire the tube sockets to accept 6L6GC type tubes and use the Phillips 6L6GC or 7581 tubes. These are still available in large quantities and would make the best affordable alternative to a 7591A. The Sovtek tubes won't come anywhere near close to the tone and clean sound of a 7591A. The Phillips 6L6GC/7581 does not sound like a 7591, but it is a good quality, reliable clean sounding tube with plenty of headroom and a big bottom end.  

Peter S

7/30/2000 6:35 PM
Dave M