| ampage Tube Amps / Music Electronics |
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. |
| Rob W. |
New Mullards: Fact or Fiction I was just lookin around at the Tubestore (www.tubestore.com) and noticed that they are selling "brand spankin' new" Mullards. (12AX7's) Is this a true? Are they being made again? (we hope) Or should the Tubestore watch how they word NOS!? Anxiously Waiting, Rob W. |
|---|---|
| Ken | AFAIK, Mullard isn't making any new tubes. KG |
|---|---|
| Trace |
If Mullard was making new tunes I'd be "all up in that" as they say now-n-dayz. I seriously doubt they are like the originals. I could be mistaken and I hope I am!! I'd love to see a large supply of them avalible. Trace |
|---|---|
| tboy |
I'm sure http://st6.yahoo.com/cgi-bin/clink?thetubestore+PnMWVR+index.html" TARGET="_top">thetubestore.com didn't mean to suggest that the http://st6.yahoo.com/cgi-bin/clink?thetubestore+PnMWVR+mullardecc83.html" TARGET="_top">Mullards they have on sale this month are of new manufacture. The tubes are NOS, and the exact quote from the page in question reads: "Brand new Mullard ECC83 / 12AX7. Need we say more? Available at a sale price until August 31." This page is normally only accessible from the "http://st6.yahoo.com/cgi-bin/clink?thetubestore+PnMWVR+nostreasures.html" TARGET="_top">NOS Treasures" section of their site, but they put in a direct link to it from the front page this month because the tubes are on sale. There is a link on the page itself that says "http://st6.yahoo.com/cgi-bin/clink?thetubestore+PnMWVR+nostreasures.html" TARGET="_top">More NOS Treasures", though. Disclaimer: If you visit http://st6.yahoo.com/cgi-bin/clink?thetubestore+PnMWVR+index.html" TARGET="_top">thetubetore.com using any of the links above and make a purchase while you're there, AMPAGE does get a small commission on the sale. I hope this doesn't make my comments seem biased. --tboy |
|---|---|
| Rob W. |
Thanks for dispelling the myth! Rob W. |
|---|---|
| Trace |
Trace | |
|---|---|---|
| Uncle Ned |
I can't imagine *them* peddling fakes for $45.95, anyway! I would note that the Mullard brand name is currently property of Richardson Electronics, Ltd, who has used the name on Russian tubes (AAMOF, I have a couple "Mullard" Sovtek 6V6-GT's here). They also own the Amperex brand name. This isn't tubestore.com's fault, but given the circumstances I can understand why someone would want to double-check on the stuff... |
|---|---|
| Page 1 of 2 | Next> | Last Page>> |