ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. The sunn still shines online!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Marshall Speaker Simulator

:
8/3/2000 4:40 PM
Snopy Marshall Speaker Simulator
Hi!  
I'm an absolut beginner, so this question may sound a little bit funny, but I really want to know, which effect this circuit has. What am I doing with it? Can I put it in front of my amp-input, or is it for something else, like an input of a hifi-system. I measured a voltage about 4V at the output of the circuit, wouldn't it destroy my amp?

8/3/2000 6:46 PM
R.L
i could be wrong here but from what i understand of it you put it in between, your guitar and amp and it makes your guitar sound amp sound like a marshall amp does. (dont kill me if i am wrong :) )  
4v does seem very high compared with what comes out of a guitar, im not sure what it would do to your amp though, id wait untill one of these nice people who know a lot more than i do about these sorts of things tells you before plugging that into your amp  
Its one of the ones that i want to build when i have some time so let me know how good it is  
good luck with it!

8/3/2000 7:10 PM
Snopy
That's what I wanted to say: The amp should sound like an Marshall amplifier. I'm afraid to put it in between of my guitar and my amp, because 4V are really high, I don't want to kill my amp :-)  
But I put it in between of my guitar and hifi, and it sounds really nice.

8/3/2000 8:35 PM
R.L
thats a impressive circuit for a beginner if its the same one i am thinking of!  
Whats the address for the schematic?  

If it sounds like a marshall through your stereo it will sound slightly different throught your amp because the amp will colour your sound as well, so you will get a marshall+you amp sound, id still un easy plugging a voltage that big into my amp.