ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum.

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

TS9 Upgrade?

:
8/11/1999 11:18 PM
Mike TS9 Upgrade?
I have a TS9 reissue with a 7550 chip in it. I was going to install a 4558D in its place. This is my first time doing this and I need to know how you can tell its turned in the right direction or does that even matter? Second will the changing of the chip make that much difference? Third, is there anything else that is different between the reissue and the original? Thanks in advance.  

Mike

Today
ampage
archive
And now, a word from our sponsors:

8/12/1999 3:00 AM
Mark Hammer
There has been MUCH dialogue in this forum about replacement chips for TS-9's that produce a sound that appeals to more ears. I'm not sure what happened to those threads, but you can find much of that information summarized very nicely at both RG Keen's site (www.geofex.com) and at Jack Orman's site (www.muzique.com)  

The short version is that there are a number of dual op-amps besides the now legendary JRC4558D that appear to have promising characteristics. Jack Orman has speculated about why this is, and what can be done to simulate that characteristics, regardless of what op-amp one is using.  

A simple way to identify the proper orientation of an op-amp on the PC board is to simply look for the ground pin and V+ pin. Most FX use a single-ended +9V battery supply, with the #4 pin going to ground, and the #8 pin going to V+). If you do decide to yank the dual op-amp from your reissue TS9, the smart thing to do is to solder in an 8-pin IC socket so you can try out different op-amps. The socket itself will have a little notch between pins 1 and 8,.

8/12/1999 9:11 PM
mike
Mark,  

I don't see any numbers on the pins of the chip. How do I know which is which?  

Mike

8/12/1999 11:05 PM
jason
pin 1 is...