ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Swell device

5/31/1999 11:13 AM
Terry
email
Swell device
I am making the swell device off of Justin Philotts beginnner page (because i am a beginner) and i built it but does not swell rather it gives a rather nasty sounding overdrive .......any reason's why it might do this?

5/31/1999 1:27 PM
R.G.
Website
email

Yeah.  

It's not a true swell device. It's a fuzz with a DC offset that makes the input of a tube amp go into bias blocking and gradually unblock as a note sustains.  

The thing is working as designed - or rather copied - as the circuit  
is the same as a fuzz device published in a 1967 issue of Popular Electronics. Give up on this for what it says it does. There is some limited "swell" effect under certain special circumstances, but only under those special conditions.

5/31/1999 3:13 PM
Terry
email

Thank you for telling me that, i would have never known and would've gotten frustrated w/ it and trashed it or something! :) but since it's already made, is there anything i can do to make it a real swell pedal or is there any schemetics out there for a "real" swell pedal?  

also what are the specail conditions you were talking about?  

_thanx_

5/31/1999 7:35 PM
R.G.
Website
email

quote:
" is there anything i can do to make it a real swell pedal"

Sadly, no.  

quote:
"is there any schemetics out there for a "real" swell pedal?"

Yes. The " target="_blank">http://www.ee.ualberta.ca/~charro/cookbook/audio/guitar/bosssg1.gif"> Boss "Slow Gear" is a real swell pedal. I traced this one out in about '95, I think.