ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

How to connect pots and inputs/outputs

5/30/1999 2:25 PM
Terry
email
How to connect pots and inputs/outputs
I am new to DIY effects and i recently made en Electra Distortion unit, with not too much problems adn i plan on adding some mods to it soon...  

I am currently working on a swell device off of Justin Philpott's site, but i can't figure out where to connect the pots , in/out puts.  
I couldn't get all of the right resistors exactly so i put some resistors in series to add up to the amount needed, which i did on my last pedal. Also, does it matter if i use polarized or non polarized caps, the schemtaics says polarized but i used non, is this why hte cicuit is dead?  

_thanx

5/30/1999 7:22 PM
John C.
email

I'm not such a newby, but I remain as an almost complete ignorant due to my lack of constance and inmotivation to learn :)  

But you could look at  

http://www.geocities.com/BourbonStreet/Delta/2133/stompbox  

it helped me a lot.  

And as far as I know, electrolitic(polarized) caps placed in certain places may not be replaced with non polarized, mainly those dealing with both positive and negative "lines" (I believe..)  

About the pots, just solder a cable that goes from point 1, 2, 3 on the board, to lug 1, 2, 3 in the pot.

5/31/1999 5:19 AM
Michael Burgundy
Website
email

certain places may not be replaced with non polarized,  
mainly those dealing with both positive and negative "lines"  
(I believe..)>  

Actaully it´s the other way around. Electrolytics can have high values in compact size at a low price, so theyre often used in powersupplies for filtering out any ripple (all those caps after diode-bridges, right?)