ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum.

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Cookies and "press enter to reload"

:
3/13/1998 7:57 AM
R.G. Cookies and "press enter to reload"
I have a gripe. I *really* don't like cookies (my machine flags them for me) and the "press enter the BBS to refresh the messages" is a pain.  

Tell me - why are we doing cookies? Is this a result of a hookup with advertisers?

Today
ampage
archive
And now, a word from our sponsors:

3/13/1998 9:16 AM
moocow
I think the "press enter to reload" is to prevent numbskulls like me from double-posting the same response by continuing to click on the 'post message' bar.  

I don't know about the cookies, though. We have a firewall here that scrambles our ISP and keeps advertisers away.  

Happy Friday the 13th ! Second month in a row...

3/13/1998 9:57 AM
bjorn

I’m a computer amateur as well – I believe cookies are small programs designed (initially designed) to be of help for the client to access programs on the server. I think they still have that function, but more functions are added, such as your profile – where do you go – how often do you access the server, and so on. I agree cookies are a real nuisance, but if you have a modern version of your browser (Explorer 4.0) you should be able to turn the “Accept cookies button” off.  

:-)  

Bjorn

3/14/1998 12:15 AM
Steve Morrison

Bjorn,  

I hope you won't be offended if I offer you my thanks for providing an excellent example of the kind of misinformed paranoid thinking that runs rampant on the web concerning cookies; I mean it in the best possible way, really. :-)  

Cookies are nothing more than entries in a simple text file that resides on your hard disk. They are not executable programs, and have no more power over your computer or your life than something like a grocery list that you might type into a text editor.