ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. The sunn still shines online!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Biasing Marshalls

:
3/10/1998 7:24 AM
Liam
Biasing Marshalls
I'm quite new to this game, so here's a stupid question. Using a function generator and 'scope to set the bias voltage on my 1978 Marshall 50 and 1980 100 MV amplifiers, I've found that the adjusting pot. is really insensitive. However this means that it's impossible to get a great deal of crossover distortion, and also it's difficult to make the HT fuse blow or any of the other groovy fireworks that are mentioned in R.G.'s FAQ page. Is this normal for these amps? Should I just stick some cathode resistors in and set the average to 35ma (EL34 Svets in both amps)?  

Another thing. The 50 Watt head is really phase coherent between input and output, so the crossover distortion is easy to see and remove. The 100 has shitloads of phase lag, so it's hard to see when the crossover distortion has gone, but there's never very much of it. Anyone got a lot of experience of these amps? I'd love some advice.

3/11/1998 4:50 PM
Brendan
Liam,  

I found the Svets to run very hot as compared to say Sovtek EL-34's. In other words, it takes a lot of negative bias voltage to throttle them back, and this is probably why you dont get any crossover distortion, the tubes are underbiased over most of the range of the adjuster. The range of the adjusting pot is about 12 volts (on my amp anyway), so if you can't get negative voltage in excess of -40 volts on the 50 watt, you may never see crossover distortion to any great extent. That is about the limit of my limited knowledge.  

My personal feeling is that if you like the sound, the tubes are biased correctly, even if they are getting a little red. Others feel that tubes cannot be abused, but I think of them as more or less expendable.  

Good luck,  
Brendan