ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

MusicMan 150 HELP

12/9/1997 3:33 AM
Steve
email
MusicMan 150 HELP
Anyone know about these amps? A quad of 6L6's, getting 150 watts... 670V on the plates at the high power setting, is this right? (the low setting is about 475V ) This thing has cooked one pair of tubes and has a good loud hum in the power section. Is this thing fixed or cathode biased? The cathodes run thru some kind of three legged flat transistor Thing (one for each set of tubes) The burnt set side seems to be shorted to ground. I can't even find the %#@& plate resistors!! HELP

12/9/1997 8:36 AM
R.G.
email

I'm NOT a Musicman expert, but I believe that they use more or less ordinary power transistors in the cathodes of the power tubes to run the power tubes in cascode to drive the output transformer.  

It's not cathode or fixed bias in the normal scheme of things, at least not like other tube amps.  

It is likely that you have already found the flaw - the shorted "three legged flat transistor Thing"  
is probably a transistor, and if it's shorted, you just have the power tubes eating all that power, no way to bias or drive them. It would cook power tubes in that case, and possibly the output transformer.  

Get those shorted transistors replaced, then see what you have. I don't know if the circuit is self balancing/biasing or not.  

There aren't any plate resistors as I remember the glances I've had at Musicman schematics.

12/9/1997 3:33 PM
Reid Kneeland
email

The Music Man amps use cathode drive on the  
outpute tubes; that is, the signal is applied to  
the cathode rather than the grid. There is  
a fixed bias voltage applied to the grids, which