ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. The sunn still shines online!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Where do FX go in vintage amp setup?

:
10/25/1997 10:58 AM
Dave H
Where do FX go in vintage amp setup?
After using a Boogie MkIIB for ten years and finally desiring richer clean and crunch tones when I tired of the overdrive, I've been using vintage Fenders for three years now.  

The problem is, I don't know where in the chain to run the effects without spoiling the tone.  

Using a BF Bassman head now modded to mainly Tweed specs, I'm thinking of getting a Fender reissue or similar valve reverb, but I go mainly for crunchy and overdriven tones, so I don't think I want to put the unit before the input to the amp (do I?). For the record, the only other things I'm running into it are a TS-9 Tube Screamer and a Nobels tremolo pedal.  

Is there an effects send/return I can introduce to this amp that won't spoil the tone? I've got a spare 12AX7 socket to use, if that helps (having adapted the 4 x 12AX7 Bassman head to the 3 x 12AX7 Tweed circuitry).  

If I can get this reverb link right I'll be headed for tone heaven, so any help is greatly appreciated.  

Thanks in advance,  

Dave H

10/25/1997 11:04 AM
Dave H

Yeah, pretty sad replying first to my own question, but to expand somewhat...  

I also plan for some gigs to run an A/B setup with my Deluxe - actually more an A/A with both amps running all the time, the Deluxe set for constant crunch with the Bassman either clean-ish or overdriven with the TS-9 (which would not be routed to the Deluxe).  

So, how would I reverb both these amps?  

Easier or preferable just to get the Reverb in the Bassman, which would give enough delay into the mix for a convincing effect?  

Thanks,  

Dave

10/26/1997 6:08 AM
Tim Yanasak