ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

Marshall needs more bottom

6/18/1997 2:36 PM
anonymous Marshall needs more bottom
I have a Marshall Master Volume (2203 I think) and the tone is not as deep as I would like. All caps and tubes have been replaced. Is this in the design, something out of spec, or what? The bass control doesn't seem as noticable as the mid and treble. Any suggestions?

6/18/1997 3:18 PM
Dan Lang
email

The JCM800's are usually bright amps by design.  
I sell a plug-in mod (no soldering or drilling needed) that warms all Marshall tube amps up.  
They also give you alot more sustain.  
If you want more info either email me at  
danlang@hotmail.com or uq615869@hsc.hac.com  

Visit my web page at http://www.javaconnection.com/lang

6/18/1997 3:21 PM
Franco
Try add, in parallel, a 0.68uF/400v capacitor on the 820 ohm cathode resistor of the third stage (it's the second ECC83/12AX7).  
I did it on my Marshall JTM 45 "Bluesbreaker" combo and really it's makes it move some serius air.  
It's a five minute work and according to me it's worth.  

Good luck.  
Franco

6/18/1997 4:42 PM
Jim Salman
email

Although that mod is really cool on non-master volume Marshalls (the plexi models have the 0.68u bypass cap on the gain stage feeding the cathode follower/tone driver), it doesn't work very well on master volume models. Believe me, I've tried it, and it made the tone worse. Also, that cap used in that location boosts upper-midrange and treble frequencies, not bass frequencies.