ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum.

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

serious (but probably dumb) question

:
1/22/1997 12:37 AM
Hans Vorstenbosch
serious (but probably dumb) question
I bumped in to a really cool amp (Laney VC50), and it sounds great. But I read a review about it that said: "Other goodies at the back include a biasing switch (for 6L6s/5881s or EL34s)...". I'm not such a tech-head, and I don't know what that means. Can somebody explain to me what that means and if I could change the sound of the amp with it? I'm really new with this stuff, so please keep the explaination simple.  

Thank you in advance,  
Hans Vorstenbosch

Today
ampage
archive
And now, a word from our sponsors:

1/22/1997 3:28 PM
Patrick Freuler

That means you can change the output tubes and adjust the bias by switching to the appropriate position indicated on the switch to match the tubes. Bias voltage on the output tubes keeps the current going though them within certain limits so that the tubes do not overheat and become damadged or destroyed. Different tubes have different bias voltage requirements. Most amp have this adjustment inside the chassis in the form of a variable resistor (like a volume control) and it requires a meter to make the adjustment. Your amp has been designed to accept any of those tubes listed, providing you insure the bias switch is set correctly to match the tube you are using. And yes, their will be a different sound depending on which output tubes you use. They all have certain tone characteristics. Hope that helps explain it.

1/25/1997 12:52 AM
Rainer zur Linde

You have to be very carful with changing output tubes! The 6L6's need 0,9 A for heating, the EL34's need 1,5A for heating. Normally, the mains transforner can't handle 0,6mA mor current for heating (each Tube!)and it cann damage.  

Rainer

1/27/1997 12:48 AM
david coletta