ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum.

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

installing reverb unit to Bassman...

:
4/4/1998 7:51 AM
Xavier Cho installing reverb unit to Bassman...
It's my first post here...  

Well, I've just finished some crude 20-watt amp for a practice, (indeed, it was way to dear for a mere "practice", thou...^^;) and  
it turned great help reading those articles you wrote...  

Anyway, I decided to build another tube amp for a "practical" use. I suppose Fender Bassman with reverb unit will fit my purpose.  

I've found all two chems, but not sure how to  
combine them... (You know, I'm a novice...) And some guy told me there should be some springs between output trans and 12AX7 but I'm  
fairly sceptical about it. Isn't it using feedback rather than mechanical process like spring reverbs do to generate reverb effect?  

And most of all, I'd be very appreciated if anyone knows how to install reverb unit to Bassman without all those extra transformers and tubes. In sum, all I wanna know is "How to combine reverb and Bassman at the possible minimum cost".  

Xavier

Today
ampage
archive
And now, a word from our sponsors:

4/5/1998 7:38 AM
Bruce

Xavier, the only other way, that is easy is a series passive effects loop installed ahead of the driver tube and then use an outboard digital reverb device.  
Feedback and reverb are not quite the same thing.  
The springs you are refering to are very important to the sound of good reverb. Most good reverbs use springs or plates or some mechanical device to generate the delay and and signal distortion.  
Unfortunatly, they work with a small signal and then kill the signal by a tremendous amount through the reverb unit.  
The left over reverberated signal will need serious amplification after the reverb tank.