ampage
Tube Amps / Music Electronics
For current discussions, please visit Music Electronics Forum. New: view Recent Searches.
New: visit Schematic Hell!
The sunn still shines online!

Listen to great tunes streaming live right now!

ampage archive

Vintage threads from the first ten years

Search for:  Mode:  

[DIY] Amp Squeals!

4/1/1998 8:57 PM
KIM HK
email
[DIY] Amp Squeals!
First of all, thank for all reply.  
(Steve, Bruce) I found fender tweed  
deluxe schematic in ampage and built it!  
(I am not an expert. It's my first work!)  

But now, whenever I turn the volume and  
tone knob, it screams and squeals. I read  
the article by Brucee and change the output  
transformer input line polarity. But nothing  
specific happens.  

What can I do?  
Thank you very much!

4/2/1998 2:13 AM
Dave H
email

Make sure you have one side of the output transformer secondary connected to chassis. They can squeal if you donít do that.  

Dave

4/2/1998 4:37 AM
D.C.H.
email

Kim -  

Well done on the DIY project. I'm sure you'll get there in the end, and be very happy with it when you do. Can you get any playable sound out of it before the squeals and screams begin?  

I too built a DIY Tweed Deluxe from the Ampage schematic (using an old Newcomb phonograph as the basis), and mine squeals - but only when tone is turned up near full with any significant volume on Channel 2 (even with no input signal).  

This hasn't been a real problem because that channel doesn't sound great with tone up high anyway, and I can play Channel 1 (the one connected more directly pre-tone) on 10 with no trouble at all - and great, FIERCE, rich, warm tone. But I'll try what Dave H suggests and see if that solves the squealing.